Best Sword/No Shield Combination...

Debate the latest buzz in the world of Mabinogi!
Zenemas

Best Sword/No Shield Combination...

Post by Zenemas »

...in your opinion, which sword type is best - just overall damage-per-second ratio - for a defensive combat style? I'm just starting out a new character in Mabi (Zenemas), so I decided to figure out my combat-style's best weapon, then build upon and toward that. Any suggestions?
Soluna

Re: Best Sword/No Shield Combination...

Post by Soluna »

First, if you are not using a shield, there's only one defensive style and that is mana shield. Swords are categorized into 1 hand swords and 2 hand swords.

1 hand swords have the ability to equip with a shield or be dual-wielded(Human-Only) and therefore more flexible.
2hand sword cannot be equipped with a shield(Unless you are a Giant) but receive bonus for smashing attack and critical rate.

In general, humans tend to go dual wield swords, giants tend to use 2hand + shield.

In terms of combat, the game community like to divide the melee combat style into 2 general category: windmill vs smash. Although that is a very bad way to categorize.
The base for this theory is founded on several factors:
1. Mutliple Targets
2. Ignoring Target Protection for Critical Hits

For Windmill is an area attack that can hit Multiple enemies and Ignores Target Protection (Enemy protection reduce your chance to do critical hits on them), so in general this style favorites dual wield because by wielding 2-swords you can increase your damage output and at the same time have more enchant slots. In general people who use this style will argue that critical hit just need to be 30%+

For Smash, it is a single attack that will receive 1.2% damage bonus and 5% critical hit bonus when using 2hand swords, therefore smash will output more damage with 2hand swords. In general people who use this style will argue you more critical % than dmg.